top of page

Fork-In-The-Road

12 November 2021


Coming Soon


At this point in my McNair journey, I am refining my presentation for the symposium this December. As mentioned in my last post, the biggest challenge for me will be adapting my presentation to an in-person format where I cannot read from a script. This challenge is one that I am excited to meet. I believe that I will have a greater sense of accomplishment having been able to present in person. The next step is turning all of this work into a paper fit to be published in the ASTRA journal. Following publication, this could potentially be used for my capstone project. I am very satisfied with the work I have done and find that by the time CERCA occurs, I will have a fine-tuned presentation. On the law school front, I am still waiting to hear back from schools. However, many did not start reviewing applications until October. As a result, it will likely take some time to hear back. Once I start receiving decisions, I will be faced with additional challenges. These challenges being the large decisions that will have to be made.




Left or Right. Easy Or Hard. Doesn't Matter. Make A Decision.


Regarding decisions, I now find myself near the halfway point of my senior year. Many seniors are approaching a critical fork-in-the-road moment. The decisions we make here have the potential to completely alter the direction our lives are headed in. For many, it is where they will be working after college, and for others, it is what graduate school they will be attending. For myself, there are a few things. If I get into a law school, where will I go? How will I be able to finance law school if I don’t go to Madison? Will I try to balance life as a soldier with life as a student again? Should I take a gap year to further my military career before coming back and reapplying to law school? These are the decisions that I will have to make this year. Any one of these decisions could potentially set me on a much different path. After reflecting on these questions, I find that there is really only one that I must answer: Do I choose one goal over the other? I can answer this question with a resounding “No.” Whatever comes of the other decisions I make, I will not let one goal stifle the other.

bottom of page