top of page

We've Come A Long Way, But We've A Lot Further To Go

16 December 2021


Prelude to the Holidays


The month of December was an eventful one to say the least. This month, I was finally able to take part in the McNair Symposium and present my work in person for the first time. As I had thought, presenting in person differs significantly from presenting online. The biggest challenge was consistent eye contact with the in-person audience. For the presentation, I utilized a teleprompter app and by positioning my phone right under the camera I was able to create the illusion of eye contact with the virtual crowd. This however meant that my main point of focus was on the camera, and not on the in-person crowd. The resulting issue was that anytime I looked away from the teleprompter to engage with the in-person audience, I ran the risk of losing my place. This fear of losing where I was on the script meant that my eye contact with those in the room was fleeting at best. This matter aside, I was very pleased with how the presentation turned out, and think that the lessons learned here will make for a great Celebration of Excellence in Research and Creative Activity (CERCA) presentation in the spring.


The Journey of 1,000 miles begins with a single step.


As of writing, I can happily report that I have been accepted into three of the seven law schools I applied to, and words cannot quite describe the feeling. In an attempt to articulate the emotions surrounding this moment, I would describe it as one of shock and disbelief. This largely resulted from the two decisions coming within thirty seconds of one another. Following the initial shock, the realization of what had just happened set in. It was as if the next ten years of my life flashed before my eyes. Certainly, large decisions are yet to be made, however, the general path of where I am headed is far clearer now. Aside from happiness and gratitude, trepidation has begun to set in as a result of the formidable years ahead. There is a substantial difference between the mindset of one who has applied to law school and one that is going to law school. You necessarily realize that in a few short months, you will be a law student. Aspirations aside, you begin to conceptualize the journey you are about to embark on. You no longer simply want to be an attorney, you will shortly begin the process of becoming one. Your success in that endeavor is entirely dependent on you now.




Familiar Territory


I take some comfort in the fact that this situation is not an unfamiliar one. Since I was five, I wanted to be in the military, but as stated above, there is a difference between wanting to do something and actually doing something. I can think of few greater reality checks than one’s first meeting with their Drill Sergeants. For many, this instance is one in which they realize that their prior convictions do not measure up to the reality of what it is going to take to achieve their goal. They are defeated by the enormity of this moment. If not here, almost everyday you will experience a situation testing your resolve. Five years of service later, and my decisions in those trying situations should seem clear. I expect my first meeting with my law professors to be more cordial than my first meetings with my Drill Sergeants. Similarly, I look forward to overcoming those moments when my determination to become an attorney is tested.

bottom of page